top of page
Writer's pictureJoe Shedd

January 2022: Dividend Portfolio Update

Updated: Dec 19, 2022



TABLE OF CONTENTS


The GOAL of my dividend growth portfolio is to balance increasing share value (Growth) while simultaneously building and producing passive income (Dividends) that can be used during retirement. Currently my portfolio is concentrated more on growth with a dividend yield of 2.39%. As I near retirement I will look to produce more income and less growth. Typically, I deposit $2,000-$4,000 monthly into this portfolio, with $3,500 deposited YTD. This portfolio is in addition to my tax deferred ROTH TSP. Currently, I reinvest all dividends utilizing DRIP. As I gain more dividends, I will hand select targeted reinvestment and withdraw the correct percentage to cover anticipated taxes.


Looking to start your own Dividend Investing journey but don't know where to begin?

Check out my Dividend Investing Guide HERE!

Portfolio Allocation

Monthly Performance


January was a rough month for most of the stock market and it was no different for my portfolio. Overall, I lost -4.11% during the month of January. This is slightly better than the SP500 which lost -5.26%. I saw a lot of panic sellers online and in my own circle of friends. Remember, to trust your positions and that ups and downs are normal when investing.


December Portfolio Performance
January Portfolio Performance


Portfolio Additions / Income Values


2021 Dividend Growth Portfolio

Overall, my portfolio is now producing $1,291.03 in passive income annually or $107.59 per month. Currently, Disney and ONL are my only positions that do not pay any dividends. I added a fair number of positions including Apple, Cisco, DGRO, Dis, General Dynamics, Home Depot, MMM, SCHD, and Visa.


Annual Dividend Income

The dividends my portfolio created in January 2022 are twice as much when compared with January 2021. Additionally, they are more than January + February 2021 combined.


Monthly Dividends Received
Monthly Dividends Received
Yearly Cumulative Dividends Compared

Below is my monthly income over the last 24-month period. This chart currently only goes back to July 2020 when I received my first dividend payment.


Dividend Income Last 24-Months



Yearly Growth Comparisons


month by month dividends received
Quarterly Dividends

As of January, I've received more than half of the 1st Quarter dividends that I received in Q1 2021. I'm looking to see continued growth of my dividends as I add more capital and as the companies I own increase their dividends during 2022.


Quarterly dividends received

Like the charts used in this post? Get a copy of Dividend Growth Portfolio spreadsheet HERE!


Future Value Estimates


Portfolio Future Value
Source: Trackyourdividends.com

The future value of my portfolio given my current contribution rate is around $1,912,000 in 15 years. This would give me a monthly passive income of $4,442 at age 48. This assumes a 10% average dividend growth rate and stock price appreciation.



Upcoming 2022 Plans

My upcoming plan is to average down on any positions that are lower than my current cost basis. This includes Disney and 3M at the moment. I still hold strong that Disney will bring back its' dividend around 2024.


Happy Investing!


Check out my other posts and be sure to subscribe so you never miss our new content.


Donation Button

48 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page