top of page
Writer's pictureJoe Shedd

September 2021: Dividend Portfolio Update

Updated: Dec 24, 2022


plants sprouts in planter

TABLE OF CONTENTS


The GOAL of my dividend growth portfolio is to balance increasing share value (Growth) while simultaneously building and producing passive income (Dividends) that can be used during retirement. Currently my portfolio is concentrated more on growth with a dividend yield of 2.43%. As I near retirement I will look to produce more income and less growth. Typically, I deposit $2,000-$4,000 monthly into this portfolio, with $26,000 deposited YTD. This portfolio is in addition to my tax deferred ROTH TSP. Currently, I reinvest all dividends utilizing DRIP. As, I gain more dividends I will hand select targeted reinvestment and withdraw the correct percentage to cover anticipated taxes.


Interested in starting you own Dividend Investing journey? Check out my Ultimate Dividend Investing Guide and personal Dividend Growth Portfolio!


Monthly Performance

September was a rough month for my portfolio when you look at the return on investment. My portfolio lost -4.8% over the month due to the market downturn. The large jump mid-month is my deposited funds.


September Portfolio Performance
September Portfolio Performance
September Account Balance
September Account Balance

My portfolio has done well this year overall when you zoom out and look at performance YTD. It has closely followed the SP500 with a +13.9% return on investment YTD compared to the SP500's +14.68%. This is the ROI if you don't include my reinvested dividends.


YTD Portfolio Performance
YTD Portfolio Performance
YTD Account Balance
YTD Account Balance


Portfolio Additions / Income Values

I added another $3,000 deposit in September that I used to purchase shares in Costco, Cisco, DGRO, Home Depot, Microsoft, MMM, and SCHD. No new positions were added and all purchases went to increasing my previous holdings. These shares added another $46.66 to my annual passive income or $3.89 per month.


Dividend Growth Portfolio
Income Value from September Additions
Income Value from September Additions

Overall, my portfolio is now producing $900.48 of passive income annually or $75.04 per month. Not bad for just over a year and a half of building this dividend growth portfolio. Currently, Disney is my only position that does not pay any dividends.

Dividend Growth Portfolio Passive Income
Dividend Growth Portfolio Passive Income

I received $142.05 in dividends in September this year compared to the $6.62 I earned last year. September represents my the most dividends received for my portfolio since inception. Overall, my dividends have grown 589.17% YTD compared to 2020.


Yearly Growth Comparisons

Monthly Dividends Received
Monthly Dividends Received
month by month dividends received

My Q3 dividends have grown significantly compared to Q3 2020 and Q1 2021. I received 16.18x more dividends compared to Q3 2020 and 2x more dividends than Q1 2021. Q3 dividends were 8.8% more than Q2, receiving $15.56 more this quarter.


Quarterly dividends received

My portfolio's passive income has grown significantly when compared to 2020 and represents my transition to dividend investing near the end of that year. I'm excited to see how my portfolio grows in 2022 when I compare it to 2021.

sum of dividends received annually


Upcoming Plans

Reviewing my current allocations I will most likely add to my positions in Cisco, General Dynamics, Home Depot, JEPI, 3M, Oracle, and VOO in October. I remain heavy in the technology sector and will continue to bring that down as Apple settles into my portfolio from a large investment earlier in the year. If the market continues to move sideways or down I will most likely change my plans and invest in any stock "on sale" or at or below my current cost basis.

Current Portfolio Sector Allocation
Current Portfolio Sector Allocation




Comments


bottom of page