top of page
Writer's pictureJoe Shedd

April 2023 Dividend Growth Portfolio Update


Dividend portfolio april update

My Dividend Growth Portfolio has a dual purpose: to drive growth in share value while generating a steady stream of passive income to support my retirement goals. With a current dividend yield of 3.25%, the portfolio is heavily weighted towards growth. However, as I approach retirement, I plan to shift my focus towards maximizing income while reducing exposure to growth. To achieve this, I make monthly contributions of $2,000-$4,000, totaling $12,000 this year, and supplement it with my tax-deferred ROTH TSP account. I reinvest all dividends through DRIP, but as my income grows, I'll carefully select reinvestment opportunities and set aside the necessary funds to cover taxes on my withdrawals.


Ready to take control of your financial future? Let me show you how with my Ultimate Dividend Investing Guide. Click the link and take the first step towards building your own Passive Income portfolio today!


Table of Contents


portfolio dasboard



portfolio alloction

Dividends Received in April

My house is currently closing so I have restarted my monthly additions. I had previously put them on hold while my family worked through putting our house on the market. On that note, I added $6,000 to my dividend portfolio This month, bringing my YTD additions to $12,000. My high yield savings account came in at $42.44 which was less than I expected (expected $62) but was still significantly higher than a traditional savings account. I also used $3,000 from my HYSA so it currently sits at $17,054. Assuming I get around $35 a month, I should have a PADI of $420~ annually (For my HYSA).

hysa balance

I received a total of $115.39 from dividends in April. This brings my 2023 dividends received total to $751.14. I received the following dividends in March:

​Stock Ticker

Dividend Value Received

Cisco Systems (CSCO)

$15.88

JP Morgan Income ETF (JEPI)

$70.72

Realty Income (O)

$19.16

Oracle Corp

$9.42

Orion Office REIT (ONL)

$0.21

cumulative dividends

Monthly Dividends Compared

In 2021, I received $28.89 in dividends. My dividends in 2023 were nearly 4x that value for April!

monthly dividends

Quarterly Dividends

My portfolio's dividend growth is around 9%, with that my 2nd Quarter dividends are right one track to be my highest of all time. This comes after a $12,000 investment addition year to date. It's wild to see how I was receiving little no dividends in 2020, a short three years ago.

quarterly dividends

Projected Annual Dividend Income (PADI)

One major milestone that my portfolio achieved this year is that I am now earning over $100 dollars a month consistently. March, June, September, and December still remain my highest monthly payments since most of my positions pay quarterly. I added $6,000 mid-month so I expect my May dividends to increase a decent amount.

dividend income over the last 24 months

My dividend portfolio's PADI is $2,846.08 annually or an average of $237.17 a month. Adding in my HYSA account PADI of $750.37 a year or $62.53 a month I get the following for my overall investments PADI of:


$3,266.08 annually or $272.17 a month



projected annual dividend income

April and Annual Performance

During April my portfolio closely tracked the SP500. Overall it returned slightly more than the SP500, returning 1.61%.

monthly performance

My portfolio's annual performance is lagging the SP500 by a decent amount. I've returned 4.15% compared to the SP500's return of 7.03%. Some of this I attribute to $MMM as it has fallen 16% YTD. Also, my largest position SCHD has fallen 6%~ due to Banks taking major hits. I will continue to add to both of these positions. This is especially true for SCHD which is a great price right now!

annual performance

114 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page